Household Goods Carriers - Frequently Asked Questions


Q1. Which application do I need to complete to transport household goods from one household to another in Georgia?
A. All Carriers performing intrastate household goods moves MUST apply for and obtain a Certificate. This certificate can be obtained by completing Form DPS TR0006.
Q2. How long will it take to obtain a Certificate?
A. Usually, "Interim Certificates" are issued within 6 to 8 weeks from the date of receipt of complete application.
Q3. Is this authority permanent?
A. No. New authority is issued on a 12-month interim period. Prior to the end of the interim period, DPS will conduct an audit of the carrier's records to determine the actual need for service, and whether the carrier has demonstrated compliance with the rules and regulations of the Department of Public Safety and Georgia law.
Q4. What authority does a carrier need to perform office moves?
A. To perform office moves the carrier must register with the Georgia Department of Revenue in accordance with the Georgia Intrastate Motor Carrier Program (GIMC). The application form can be obtained from the forms section of our website at www.gamccd.net, or carriers may apply online. The carrier does not need a Certificate from the Department of Public Safety to perform office furniture moves.
Q5. Are rates regulated?
A. Yes. Household goods rates are regulated and subject to the Maximum Rate Tariff; however, rates are not regulated for office moves.
Q6. Can a household goods carrier charge for travel time or an hourly minimum?
A. Yes, as of April 1, 2013, for-hire motor carrier of household goods operating in intrastate commerce may charge a one (1) hour truck charge at the standard labor rate. Hourly minimum information is found in the Household Goods Tariff.
Q7. Can a household goods carrier charge a fuel surcharge?
A. Yes, as of April 1, 2013, a for-hire motor carrier of household goods operating in intrastate commerce may charge a fuel surcharge currently set by the Commissioner of Public Safety at $1.00 per mile from shipment’s origin to shipment’s destination on weight and distance moves only.
Q8. What are the state requirements for minimum insurance limits?
A.
The minimum insurance requirements set by law are as follows:
Public Liability and Property Damage Insurance
Type of equipment Limit for bodily injury to or death of one person Limit of bodily injuries to or death of all persons injured or killed in any one accident (subject to a maximum of $100,000 for bodily injuries to or death of one person) Limit for loss or damage in any one accident to property of others (excluding cargo)
Freight equipment: All motor vehicles used in the transportation of property $100,000.00 $300,000.00 $50,000.00
 
Cargo Insurance
Type of equipment For loss of or damage to property carried on any one motor vehicle For loss of or damage to aggregate of losses or damage of or to property occurring at any one time and place
Freight equipment: All motor vehicles used in the transportation of property $25,000.00 $50,000.00
Q9. Do I need a Household Goods Certificate if a customer provides the moving truck?
A. Yes, if you provide a driver. As of July 1, 2013, it is irrelevant who provides the moving truck. If a company provides a driver to transport a for-hire shipment of household goods in intrastate commerce, the company must obtain a Household Goods Certificate from the Department.
 
If you have additional questions, please contact us.